contact us

Use the form on the right to contact us.

You can edit the text in this area, and change where the contact form on the right submits to, by entering edit mode using the modes on the bottom right.


Santa Cruz

Santa Cruz Mid-County Soccer Club is dedicated to providing affordable, high-quality opportunities for young people to play soccer in Santa Cruz

competitive surf teams

2018 fall Tryouts

All Santa Cruz Mid-County Surf teams hold tryouts over 2 weekends (2/3-4 & 2/10-11) for the  upcoming Fall 2018 season. For those teams who play year-round and have vacancies will use tryouts to form a Spring roster. Spring rosters and fall rosters are not always the same. Talk to the individual coach to see what their roster needs are for each upcoming season.

Players are evaluated on a number of factors. Skill, focus, tenacity, intensity and knowledge of the game are just a few factors coaches will take into consideration when evaluating players. players DO NOT have to attend both weekend tryouts. 

Tryouts are held at Soquel High School rain or shine. Please refer to our Comp Tryout Schedule page for specific times for each age group.

livescan.png

Over 250 players participate in Santa Cruz Mid-County’s competitive soccer program, known as Santa Cruz Mid-County Surf. Our competitive teams are for boys and girls ages 7 to 19 who show heightened interest, dedication and ability to play soccer. Comp players should demonstrate a passion to play the game of soccer at an advanced level and a focus and willingness to always improve and develop their skills.

Our competitive teams play in the California Youth Soccer Association (CYSA) Cal North District 2 league (CCSL) cysadistrict2.org. Teams participate in tournaments throughout northern California and sometimes venture out and play in more statewide events. Comp teams also participate in League play consisting of a 10-game season from early September to the end of November. Most comp teams begin practicing in mid-July to early August, but it is not uncommon for Surf teams to play in Summer tournaments. It is up to each individual coach to determine their own practice and tournament schedule. Some comp teams play in the Spring League as well as the Fall.

Surf teams compete in all competitive divisions including Copper, Bronze, Silver and Gold Elite for their age group. Many of our Surf teams are current and former League and District Cup champions!

The club relies on volunteers to coach its competitive teams.  All Comp coaches must possess a minimum United States Soccer Federation (USSF) Class E License. For more information see the Coaches section below.

 



Coaches

As required by California Youth Soccer Association Cal North calnorth.org, all Santa Cruz Mid-County Surf coaches hold a minimum USSF (United States Soccer Federation) National E License. This is an 18-hour course, including both field and classroom training. All coaches must pass a final exam to complete the course and receive their license. The club's parent organization, Santa Cruz County Youth Soccer League (SCCYSL), sponsors all coaching courses. For complete info on Comp coaching requirements, training and schedule, please visit the SCCYSL coach's page at http://sccysl.org/coaches.html.

For more information on coaching or any other comp-related matter please contact our Competitive Team Coordinator and Director of Coaching, Carlos Chagolla carloschagolla@hotmail.com

****

-- 2016 SURF Teams, Coaches & managers --

SURF GIRLS

Team: Surf 07 Girls

Coach: Tom Brady    tombinsc@gmail.com

Coach: Paul Tumason     pmtumason@gmail.com

Manager: Whitney Smith   whsmith831@gmail.com

 

Team: Surf 06 Girls

Coach: Jose Sierra                       josesierra07@comcast.net

Assistant#1 Brian McGinley      brian@mcginley.com

Assistant#2 Dwayne Dawson:  dwayne@dwaynedawson.com

Assistant#3  Rafael Vaca SC      plumber34@gmail.com

Manager: Cassandra Jarrell       cassy.may2@gmail.com

 

Team:  Surf 04 Girls

CoachHillel Rom                rom48us@yahoo.com

AssistantGeoff Rilling      geoff.rilling@comcast.net

ManagerGeoff Rilling      geoff.rilling@comcast.net

 

Team: Surf 02 Girls

Coach:  Jon Baron     Jonbaron21@hotmail.com

Assistant:  Elfin Saffer     Elfin_Saffer@hotmail.com

Manager:  Michael Kelley     Akukel@yahoo.com

 

Team: Surf 01 Girls

Coach: Kelly Binger        kbinger@gmail.com

Assistant Joe Armstrong   josephwarmstrong@gmail.com 

Manager Christine Binger  kbinger@gmail.com

ManagerVirginia Nosky     .vnosky@sbcglobal.net

Trainer:  Katie Binger (unpaid)  kathryn.binger@gmail.com

 

Team: Surf 00 Girls

Coach: Russell Hilton      cruzhiltons@gmail.com

Assistant: Bob Veach      bobveach@aol.com

Assistant:  Sandy Beck   sandygbeck@sbcglobal.net

Manager Bob Veach       bobveach@aol.com

 

Team:  Surf 99 Girls

Coach:  Hillel Rom          rom48us@yahoo.com

Assistant: Paul O'Hare   jpaul.ohare@gmail.com

Manager: Paul O'Hare   jpaul.ohare@gmail.com

SURF BOYS

Team: Surf 08 Boys

Coach: Russell Hilton   cruzhiltons@gmail.com

Assistant: TBD

Manager: TBD

 

Team: Surf 08 Boys

Coach: Mike Fong    laughingmarmot@comcast.net

Assistant: TBD

Manager: TBD

 

Team: Surf 07 Boys

Coach: Nate Downs               nate@ameri-cal.com

Coach: Phil Buehrig                phil@built-in-cabinetry.com

Assistant:  TBD

Manager:  Whitney Smith    whsmith831@hotmail.com

Manager Erin Cortes              erinclo@hotmail.com

 

Team: Surf 06 Boys

Coach: Alan Alcocer,            alanalcocer39@gmail.com

Assistant: Troy Depuydt,     troydep@gmail.com

Manager: Gina Vitali,           ginacuseo@hotmail.com

 

Team: Surf 05 Boys Red

Coach; Alan Alcocer : alanalcocer39@gmail.com

Assistant: Troy Depoyt :   troydep@gmail.com

Manager: Elise Garretelise.garrett@hotmail.com

 

Team: Surf 05 Boys White

Coach: Chris Irving            chris55i@yahoo.com

Coach: Brian McGinley      brian@mcginley.com

Assistant: Phill Buehrig       phill@built-in-cabinetry.com

Manager: Carmen Irving      carmenirving@hotmail.com

 

Team: Surf 05 Boys Blue

Coach: Troy Depuydt,     troydep@gmail.com

Assistant: Mark Battey   batteyins@gmail.com

Manager: TBD

 

Team:  Surf 04 Boys Blue

Coach: Carlos Chagolla      carloschagolla@Hotmail.com

Assistant: Jeremy Nama      janama@comcast.net

Manager: Anna Castillo       anna_castillo@Hotmail.com

 

Team:  Surf 04 Boys White

 Coach:  Ken Wickman     krwickman@gmail.com

Assistant: Nate Downs    nate@ameri-cal.com

Assistant: Jason Morvay   jason.morvay@gmail.com

Manager:  TBD

  

Team:  Surf 03 Boys

Coach: Grover Phillips    groverp@sbcglobal.net

Assistant: Steve Bonar:    steve_bonar@yahoo.com

Manager:  Michelle Buell    michellebuell@att.ne

Team: Surf 02 Boys

Coach:  David Carrillo   nenepollo2000@yahoo.com

Assistant: TBD

Manager: TBD

Team:  Surf 99 Boys

Coach:  Jon Baron                Jonbaron21@hotmail.com

Assistant:  Elfin Saffer        Elfin_Saffer@hotmail.com

Manager:  Michael Kelley    Akukel@yahoo.com